‘Education’

Since my blog has quickly become a hodge-podge of everything and anything, I thought I’d quickly upload a poem I wrote tonight. Uploading poetry might become a regular thing but I won’t make any promises!

 

‘Education’ 

 

I learnt how to count when I was two or three.

Flies fest on the bodies left behind in war,

Replacements move through a revolving door.

The numbers are not the government’s responsibility.

 

I learnt history when I was four or five.

Letters left behind by the literate and free,

Who can speak for the enslaved rotting in the sea.

Only the words of the deceitful survived.

 

I learnt religion when I was nine or ten.

Women in Church look like pastel-coloured clones,

I wonder if they know that God often appears as a drone.

The pages of the Bible are made of dead men.

 

I learnt science when I was twelve or thirteen.

Agent Orange burns an infant’s lungs and eyes,

The buzz of manufactured chemicals drowns out their death cries.

A black arm welcoming the AIDs needle’s silver sheen.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

